Logo Kanton Bern / Canton de BerneUniversities of Bern Counselling Centre
  • de
  • fr
  • en

Assessment of your current situation + competence profile

A personal assessment of your current situation and competence profile will help you learn more about your strengths and potential. This will help you to find out which career direction you would like to take.

Assessment of your current situation

An assessment of your current situation helps you to clarify your professional interests, needs and values. Your job search and application will be more effective if you have worked out clear goals in advance. Knowing what you want will help you find the right opportunities.

You are faced with a critical decision and need to clarify what you want. This can be a variety of educational and work-related concerns:

  • Professional reorientation
  • Choosing a course of study
  • Finding a job or internship
  • Other similar questions

Below you will find some relevant questions that will help you to create a more nuanced picture of your interests, needs and satisfaction as well as your values and sense of purpose. You can use them to develop more precise goals and identify which options appeal to you. This will provide you with the basis for making good decisions.  

Competence profile

One of the prerequisites for developing professional goals is a realistic self-assessment of personal competencies. Knowing what you can do enables you to act with confidence. A realistic self-assessment also helps you pre-select job advertisements and forms the basis for motivation letters and preparation for job interviews.

Use the template below (PDF) to clearly present your backpack of skills. You will approach the next steps and decisions with increased self-confidence:

Other resources

ETH Zurich offers a helpful application guide which also includes assessment of your current situation and a competence profile:

On the job search engine «jobagent» you will find various checklists for assessing your current situation:

  • Counselling services (overview)

  • Counselling on career and professional path

Share this page

Logo Kanton Bern / Canton de BerneBeratungsstelle Berner Hochschulen
  • de
  • fr
  • en

Standortbestimmung und Kompetenzprofil

Mit einer persönlichen Standortbestimmung und einem Kompetenzprofil erfahren Sie mehr über Ihre Stärken und Ihr Potenzial. Dies hilft Ihnen dabei, herauszufinden, welche berufliche Richtung Sie einschlagen möchten.

Standortbestimmung

Mit einer Standortbestimmung klären Sie Ihre beruflichen Interessen, Bedürfnisse und Wertvorstellungen. Ihre Stellensuche und Bewerbung wird effektiver, wenn Sie vorgängig klare Zielvorstellungen erarbeitet haben. Wenn Sie wissen, was Sie wollen, lassen sich auch entsprechende Möglichkeiten finden.

Sie stehen vor einer relevanten Entscheidung und müssen hierzu klären, was Sie wollen. Es kann sich dabei um verschiedene bildungs- und arbeitsbezogene Anliegen handeln:

  • Berufliche Neuorientierung
  • Studienwahl
  • Suche einer Arbeits- oder Praktikumstelle
  • Weitere ähnliche Fragen

Untenstehend finden Sie einige relevante Fragen, die Ihnen dabei helfen, ein differenziertes Bild Ihrer Interessen, Ihrer Bedürfnisse und Zufriedenheit sowie Ihrer Wert- und Sinnvorstellungen zu erstellen. Sie können damit genauere Zielvorstellungen entwickeln und erkennen, welche Optionen Ihnen zusagen. Damit legen Sie die Basis für gute Entscheidungen. 

Kompetenzprofil

Zu den Voraussetzungen für die Entwicklung beruflicher Zielvorstellungen gehört eine realistische Selbsteinschätzung der persönlichen Kompetenzen. Zu wissen, was man kann, ermöglicht ein selbstbewusstes Vorgehen. Eine realistische Selbsteinschätzung hilft zudem bei der Vorselektion von Stelleninseraten, bildet die Grundlage für Motivationsschreiben und die Vorbereitung von Vorstellungsgesprächen.

Stellen Sie mit Hilfe der untenstehenden Vorlage (PDF) Ihren Kompetenzrucksack übersichtlich dar. Sie werden die weiteren Schritte und Entscheidungen mit gestärktem Selbstvertrauen angehen: 

Weitere Hilfsmittel

Die ETH Zürich bietet einen hilfreichen Bewerbungsratgeber, der auch eine Standortbestimmung und ein Kompetenzprofil umfasst:

Auf der Job-Suchmaschine «jobagent» finden Sie verschiedene Checklisten für eine Standortbestimmung:

  • Beratungsangebot (Übersicht)

  • Workshops (Übersicht)

Seite teilen