Logo Kanton Bern / Canton de BerneUniversities of Bern Counselling Centre
  • de
  • fr
  • en

Mindfulness and meditation

How can mindfulness and meditation have a positive influence on your life? Find out more here.

Mindfulness

You can be mindful in a variety of ways. For example, you can do a mindfulness exercise. Or you can simply go through life mindfully, noticing how the birds chirp or the leaves gently sway back and forth in the wind. Apart from that, mindfulness also includes the conscious awareness of one's own thoughts and feelings.

  • Mindfulness is conscious awareness and experiencing of the present moment.
  • Mindfulness is an important cornerstone for a happy life.

This linked TED Talk features a presentation by Dr. Shauna Shapiro, a professor of psychology. She draws on modern neuroscience findings on the one hand and ancient wisdom on the other. In the video, she shows how mindfulness can help us create positive changes in our brains and our lives. 

Meditation

Studies have shown that meditation is helpful for a variety of conditions, including;

  • Anxiety and pain disorders
  • Depression and stress
  • Sleep disorders
  • Cardiovascular diseases
  • Cancers

It is not surprising, then, that many of the newer forms of psychotherapy are incorporating mindfulness as a fixed part of the therapy.

Compassion meditation, for example, plays a large role in Compassion Focused Therapy (CFT) or Mindfulness-Based Compassionate Living (MBCL). Both are very recent procedures that are particularly relevant in the treatment of excessive self-criticism. In compassion meditation one meets oneself and also all other living beings with compassion and empathy. One practices meeting oneself in a loving way.

The following lecture by Professor of Psychology - Dr. Shauna Shapiro - is about compassion meditation. It is an example of how loving mindfulness can enrich one's life:

  • Counselling services (overview)

  • Avoiding stress

Share this page

Logo Kanton Bern / Canton de BerneBeratungsstelle Berner Hochschulen
  • de
  • fr
  • en

Achtsamkeit und Meditation

Wie können Achtsamkeit und Meditation Ihr Leben positiv beeinflussen? Hier finden Sie einige Informationen und Anregungen zum Thema.

Achtsamkeit

Sie können auf verschiedene Arten achtsam sein. So können Sie beispielsweise eine Achtsamkeits-Übung durchführen. Sie können aber auch schlicht achtsam durchs Leben gehen: wahrnehmen, wie die Vögel zwitschern oder sich die Blätter im Wind hin- und herwiegen. Darüber hinaus umfasst Achtsamkeit auch die bewusste Wahrnehmung der eigenen Gedanken und Gefühle.

  • Achtsamkeit ist die bewusste Wahrnehmung und das Erleben des aktuellen Moments.
  • Achtsamkeit ist ein wichtiger Grundpfeiler für ein glückliches Leben.

Im verlinkten TED Talk referiert die Professorin für Psychologie, Dr. Shauna Shapiro. Sie stützt sich einerseits auf moderne neurowissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse und andererseits auf uralte Weisheiten. Im Video zeigt sie, wie Achtsamkeit uns helfen kann, positive Veränderungen in unserem Gehirn und unserem Leben hervorzurufen.

Meditation

Studien konnten zeigen, dass Meditation bei einer Vielzahl von Krankheiten hilfreich sein kann, z.B. bei:

  • Angst- und Schmerzstörungen
  • Depressionen und Stresserkrankungen
  • Schlafstörungen
  • Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen
  • Krebserkrankungen

Es erstaunt daher nicht, dass viele der neueren Psychotherapieformen Achtsamkeit fix in die Therapie einbauen.

Die Mitgefühlsmeditation beispielsweise spielt eine grosse Rolle in der Compassion Focused Therapy (CFT) oder dem Mindfulness-Based Compassionate Living (MBCL). Beides sind sehr junge Verfahren, die insbesondere bei der Behandlung von übermässiger Selbstkritik eine Rolle spielen. Bei der Mitgefühlsmeditation begegnet man sich selbst und auch allen anderen Lebewesen mit Mitgefühl und Empathie. Man übt, sich selbst auf eine liebevolle Art und Weise zu begegnen. 

Im folgenden Vortrag der Professorin für Psychologie – Dr. Shauna Shapiro – geht es um die Mitgefühlsmeditation. Sie ist ein Beispiel dafür, wie eine liebevolle Achtsamkeit das Leben bereichern kann:

  • Beratungsangebot (Übersicht)

  • Workshops (Übersicht)

Seite teilen