Logo Kanton Bern / Canton de BerneUniversities of Bern Counselling Centre
  • de
  • fr
  • en

Social relationships and helpfulness

Why is our human environment so important? And how can social relationships and helpful behaviour positively influence your life? Find out more about that here.

Social relationships

Many studies show how important close, supportive social relationships are for a happy life. People who have good social relationships are happier, less likely to get sick, live longer and stay cognitively fit longer compared to people who have few such relationships.

  • Loneliness is one of the most important risk factors for almost all mental illnesses.
  • Close social relationships are important for a happy life.

The Harvard Study of Adult Development is the longest long-term study of adult development ever conducted. Over a period of 80 years, researchers investigated, among other things, the factors that lead to a fulfilled life. Their results show that close social relationships are by far the most important factor for a happy life.

The following TED Talk by Prof. Robert Waldinger gives an insight into the results of this extensive study. The video is in English, German subtitles can be activated.

Helpfulness

Helping other people is doubly rewarding. According to scientific findings, not only does it make those who receive help happier, but also those offering the help. Willingness to help and volunteer work are – probably unsurprisingly – among the most important ingredients of a happy life.

So, if you are unhappy or struggling with a lack of self-worth, taking up voluntary work could help. You can find offers on the Swiss placement platform for voluntary work (Benevol Jobs) or on cantonal webpages:

  • Counselling services (overview) 

  • Conflicts and bullying

Share this page

Logo Kanton Bern / Canton de BerneBeratungsstelle Berner Hochschulen
  • de
  • fr
  • en

Soziale Beziehungen und Hilfsbereitschaft

Warum ist unser menschliches Umfeld so wichtig? Und wie können soziale Beziehungen und hilfsbereites Verhalten Ihr Leben positiv beeinflussen? Hier erfahren Sie mehr darüber.

Soziale Beziehungen

Viele Studien zeigen, wie wichtig enge, unterstützende soziale Beziehungen für ein glückliches Leben sind. Menschen, die über gute soziale Beziehungen verfügen, sind glücklicher, seltener krank, leben länger und bleiben kognitiv länger fit im Vergleich zu Menschen, die kaum solche Beziehungen haben.

  • Einsamkeit ist einer der wichtigsten Risikofaktoren für fast alle psychischen Erkrankungen.
  • Enge soziale Beziehungen sind wichtig für ein glückliches Leben.

Die «Harvard Study of Adult Development» ist die längste je durchgeführte Langzeitstudie zur Entwicklung im Erwachsenenalter. Während 80 Jahren untersuchten Wissenschaftler und Wissenschaftlerinnen unter anderem die Faktoren, die zu einem erfüllten Leben führen. Ihre Resultate zeigen, dass enge soziale Beziehungen der mit Abstand wichtigste Faktor für ein glückliches Leben sind.

Der folgende TED-Talk von Prof. Robert Waldinger gibt einen Einblick in die Ergebnisse dieser umfangreichen Studie. Das Video ist auf Englisch, deutsche Untertitel können aktiviert werden.

Hilfsbereitschaft

Anderen Menschen zu helfen, lohnt sich doppelt. Gemäss wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnissen werden nicht nur diejenigen Personen glücklicher, welche Hilfe erhalten, sondern auch diejenigen, die Hilfe anbieten. Hilfsbereitschaft und ehrenamtliche Arbeit gehören - wohl wenig überraschend - zu den wichtigsten Zutaten eines glücklichen Lebens.

Wenn Sie unglücklich sind oder mit mangelndem Selbstwert zu kämpfen haben, könnte also das Aufnehmen einer ehrenamtlichen Tätigkeit helfen. Angebote finden Sie bei der Schweizer Vermittlungsplattform für freiwilliges Engagement (Benevol Jobs) oder auch auf kantonalen Webseiten:

  • Beratungsangebot (Übersicht)

  • Workshops (Übersicht)

Seite teilen