Logo Kanton Bern / Canton de BerneUniversities of Bern Counselling Centre
  • de
  • fr
  • en

Required language skills

Here you will find information about the language skills required for a studies at the University of Bern, the Bern University of Applied Sciences or PHBern. A good knowledge of German is mandatory for almost all degree programmes at the Universities of Bern.

General information

The «Common European Framework of Reference for Languages» (CEFR) is an international standard used worldwide to describe and compare language competences.

The CEFR contains an assessment scale for language competences, which comprises 6 levels: from A1 to C2 (basic to near-native proficiency). The 6 levels can in turn be divided into 3 basic levels:

  • A: Elementary language use
  • B: Independent language use
  • C: Competent language use

University of Bern

Courses at the University of Bern are generally held in German. A good knowledge of German is a prerequisite for admission to most degree programmes. You can find more information on the University of Bern website:

Bern University of Applied Sciences

Teaching at the Bern University of Applied Sciences is generally in German; additionally, some (Master's) degree programmes are taught in French and/or English. Knowledge of French and German is generally required at the Biel campus.

Bern University of Teacher Education

A good knowledge of German is required at PHBern. Persons with German as a second language must have a knowledge of German equivalent to at least level C1 of the «Common European Framework of Reference for Languages» (CEFR).

In cooperation with the University of Bern, enrolled students of PHBern can attend German courses at the university:

Depending on your professional background, you may be required to take a supplementary examination or a preparatory course. Certain achievements in French and English are required in these examinations or courses, depending on the level you are aiming for:

The teaching of the preparatory course requires level B1 in French and English. In other words, students who have not yet reached level B1 will not be able to follow the lessons, or will only be able to do so with difficulty.

The exception to this is the «Bilingual Course / Cursus Bilingue», a joint offer of PHBern and the HEP-BEJUNE. After graduating in this course, you will be teaching in both French and German:

For incoming students

Mobility students with sufficient knowledge of German may attend courses and complete coursework at all institutes of the basic education programme:

  • Application for studies + requirements

  • Mobility (overview) 

  • Planning your studies (overview) 

  • Choosing a course of study and a profession

Share this page

Logo Kanton Bern / Canton de BerneBeratungsstelle Berner Hochschulen
  • de
  • fr
  • en

Benötigte Sprachkenntnisse

Hier finden Sie Informationen über die nötigen Sprachkenntnisse, die für ein Studium an den Berner Hochschulen benötigt werden.

Allgemeine Information

Der «Gemeinsame Europäische Referenzrahmen für Sprachen» (GER) befasst sich mit der Beurteilung von Fortschritten in den Lernerfolgen bezüglich einer Fremdsprache. Ziel ist, die verschiedenen europäischen Sprachzertifikate untereinander vergleichbar zu machen und einen Massstab für den Erwerb von Sprachkenntnissen zu schaffen.

Es gibt drei grundlegende Levels im GER (wobei diese insgesamt in 6 Stufen von A1 bis C2 eingeteilt sind):

  • A: Elementare Sprachverwendung
  • B: Selbstständige Sprachverwendung
  • C: Kompetente Sprachverwendung 

Berner Fachhochschule

An der Berner Fachhochschule wird in der Regel in Deutsch unterrichtet; in manchen (Master-)Studiengängen zudem in Französisch und/oder Englisch. Am Studienort Biel werden in der Regel Französisch- und Deutschkenntnisse vorausgesetzt. 

Pädagogische Hochschule Bern

An der PHBern werden gute Deutschkenntnisse vorausgesetzt. Personen mit Deutsch als Zweitsprache müssen Sprachkenntnisse in Deutsch besitzen, die mindestens dem Niveau C1 des «Gemeinsamen europäischen Referenzrahmens für Sprachen» (GER) entsprechen.

In Zusammenarbeit mit der Universität Bern können immatrikulierte Studierende der PHBern Deutschkurse an der Universität besuchen:

Abhängig davon, mit welchem beruflichen Hintergrund Sie an die PHBern kommen, kann es sein, dass Sie eine Ergänzungsprüfung oder einen Vorbereitungskurs ablegen müssen. In diesen Prüfungen oder Kursen werden je nach angestrebter Stufe Leistungen im Französisch und Englisch benötigt.

Der Unterricht am Vorbereitungskurs setzt in diesen Fächern das Niveau B1 voraus. Anders gesagt: Wer das Niveau B1 noch nicht erreicht hat, kann dem Unterricht nicht oder nur mit Mühe folgen.

Ausnahme davon ist der «Bilinguale Studiengang / Cursus Bilingue», ein gemeinsames Angebot der PHBern und der HEP-BEJUNE. Nach Ihrer Diplomierung unterrichten Sie sowohl auf Französisch wie auch auf Deutsch.

Für Incoming Studierende

Mobilitätsstudierende mit ausreichenden Deutschkenntnissen dürfen an sämtlichen Instituten der Grundausbildungen Lehrveranstaltungen besuchen und Studienleistungen erbringen.

  • Studiumsanmeldung + Voraussetzungen

  • Mobilität

  • Studienplanung

  • Studien- und Berufswahl

Seite teilen