Logo Kanton Bern / Canton de BerneUniversities of Bern Counselling Centre
  • de
  • fr
  • en

Compatibility of studies and work

Studying and working part-time is a reality and a financial necessity for many students. However, not everyone is able to combine a course of study with paid employment in the same way. It varies from person to person and depends heavily on the practical orientation of the university, the course of study and the phase of study.

University of Bern

At the University of Bern, many study programmes are geared towards full-time study. For this reason, it is often not easy to combine work and a course of study.

The Bachelor's programme does not offer as much freedom in putting together a timetable. This makes it difficult to combine a course of study with paid employment.

It is usually easier to pursue paid work on a part-time basis in the Master's programme. This is especially advantageous for those who return to a course of study during or after a period of professional work. This way you can still work part-time and do not have to give up your financial independence.

Bern University of Applied Sciences and Bern University of Teacher Education

Part-time courses of study are encouraged in practice-oriented degree programmes, such as those at the Bern University of Applied Sciences (BFH) and the Bern University of Teacher Education (PHBern). For example, many of the Bachelor's courses of study at BFH are also available on a part-time basis. However, the exact framework conditions differ depending on the degree programme and institute.

  • Many of the Bachelor's courses of study at the Bern University of Applied Sciences are available on a part-time basis.
  • At the Bern University of Teacher Education, it is possible to study on a part-time basis in all degree programmes.

You can find more information on the webpages of both universities.

Part-time employment increases career opportunities

A part-time job as part of a «study job» is often an important prerequisite or even the decisive financial basis for a course of study. But it often means much more. It allows you to gain valuable experience for a later career or to make useful contacts.

  • Depending on your interests and abilities, there is a wide range of part-time employment opportunities.
  • However, you will need a good deal of personal initiative.
  • When starting a career, work experience gained during your studies often increases your chances of finding employment.

The disadvantage of a part-time job during your studies is that it often results in an extension of your period of study. Depending on your workload, it is therefore advisable to clarify the possible consequences for the course of studies with the student advisor. A workload of 25% or more is usually recognised as a reason for extending the period of study.  

Other resources

Between studies and work, coping with your own life situation can often be challenging. Would you like a counselling session to reflect on how you can better combine your studies with paid employment?

  • Contact us for a personal appointment – free of charge and confidential.  
  • Part-time job

  • Job search and networking

  • Counselling services (overview)

  • Strengthen your well-being (overview) 

Share this page

Logo Kanton Bern / Canton de BerneService de conseil des hautes écoles bernoises
  • de
  • fr
  • en

Conciliation des études et de l'activité professionnelle

Étudier et travailler en parallèle est une réalité et une nécessité financière pour de nombreux-ses étudiant-e-s. Cependant, la conciliation des études et de l'emploi rémunéré ne fonctionne pas de la même manière pour tout le monde. Elle est individuellement différente et dépend fortement de l'orientation pratique de l'université, de la discipline et de la phase des études. 

Université de Berne

De nombreux programmes d'études à l'Université de Berne sont orientés vers des études à temps plein. C'est pourquoi il n'est souvent pas facile de concilier travail et études.

Le Bachelor n'offre pas autant de liberté dans l'élaboration de l'emploi du temps. Il est donc difficile de concilier études et activité professionnelle.

Au niveau Master, le travail salarié à temps partiel peut généralement être poursuivi plus facilement. C'est un avantage surtout pour ceux qui reprennent les études pendant ou après une phase de travail professionnel. Ainsi, vous pouvez toujours travailler à côté et ne pas avoir à renoncer à votre indépendance financière. 

Haute école spécialisée bernoise (BFH) et Haute école pédagogique de Berne (PHBern)

Dans le cas des formations orientées vers la pratique, comme il est d'usage à la Haute école spécialisée bernoise (BFH) et à la Haute école pédagogique de Berne (PHBern) , des études à temps partiel sont subventionnées. De nombreuses filières à la BFH sont également possibles à temps partiel. Selon la formation et l'institut, les conditions-cadres exactes diffèrent

  • De nombreuses filières de la Haute école spécialisée bernoise sont à temps partiel.
  • À la Haute école pédagogique de Berne, il est en principe possible d'étudier à temps partiel dans tous les cours.

Vous trouverez de plus amples informations sur les sites Web des deux universités.

Un emploi à temps partiel augmente les opportunités de carrière

Un emploi à temps partiel dans le cadre d'un « job étudiant » est souvent une condition préalable importante voire la base financière déterminante pour étudier. Mais cela signifie souvent beaucoup plus. Il peut être utilisé pour acquérir une expérience précieuse pour une carrière ultérieure ou pour nouer des contacts utiles.

  • Selon vos intérêts et vos capacités, il existe un vaste éventail de possibilités d'emploi à temps partiel.
  • Mais il faut faire preuve de beaucoup d'initiative.
  • En début de carrière, l'expérience professionnelle accompagnant les études augmente souvent les chances d'un emploi.

L'inconvénient d'un emploi à temps partiel pendant les études est qu'il entraîne souvent une prolongation de la période d'études. En fonction du nombre d'emplois, il convient donc de clarifier les conséquences possibles sur le parcours des études avec le conseil spécialisé. Un quota d'emploi de 25 % ou plus est généralement reconnu comme un motif de prolongation de la période d'études. 

Conseils personnels

Votre propre situation de vie entre les études et le travail peut souvent être difficile. Souhaitez-vous une consultation pour réfléchir à la manière dont vous pouvez encore mieux combiner études et activité professionnelle ?

  • Contactez-nous pour un rendez-vous personnel – gratuit et confidentiel.
  • Emploi à temps partiel

  • Recherche d'emploi et réseautage

  • Conseils (aperçu)

  • Renforcer le bien-être (aperçu)

Partager