Logo Kanton Bern / Canton de BerneUniversities of Bern Counselling Centre
  • de
  • fr
  • en

Gender and sexual diversity

People differ in terms of their body gender, gender identity (perceived gender), gender expression and sexual orientation. Here you can find more comprehensive information on the topic and on organisations that advocate for the relevant issues.

The website and the video of the project «Interventions for Gender and Sexual Diversity» of the German Education, Counselling and Research Institute «Dissens»  provide an insight into the topic of gender and sexual diversity:

Meaning of LGBTQIA+

LGBTQIA people represent part of gender and sexual diversity. The term LGBTQIA is an abbreviation (acronym) originating from English. The letters stand for the first letters of:

  • Lesbian 
  • Gay 
  • Bisexual 
  • Transgender 
  • Queer/Questioning
  • Intersex
  • Asexual

This abbreviation changes depending on the underlying language. In addition, it is sometimes supplemented by an asterisk (*) or a plus (+) to express diversity and extensibility.

Helpful information

If you are looking for helpful information on the topic of LGBTQIA+ in the university environment, the website of the Student Association of the University of Bern (SUB) can help you. There you will find useful tips and advice on everyday university life, information on changing your name and registering your gender, as well as various further links:

Our counselling and support

Finding a personal path in gender and sexual diversity can open up new experiences, evoke previously unknown feelings and thoughts, but also lead to uncertainty. Due to the widespread assumption of binary gender and heterosexual orientation, LGBTIQ people also repeatedly experience degradation and exclusion.

At the Counselling Centre of the Universities of Bern, we are happy to support you within the framework of individual counselling – confidentially and free of charge. We are here to help you with your personal identity search, the challenges associated with it or even with discriminatory experiences.

Please also see our website below for further topics that could be of interest to you.

  • Counselling services (overview)

  • Sexual harassment

  • Discrimination

  • Legal advice

Explanatory video (in German)

Share this page

Logo Kanton Bern / Canton de BerneBeratungsstelle Berner Hochschulen
  • de
  • fr
  • en

Geschlechtliche und sexuelle Vielfalt

Menschen unterscheiden sich bezüglich ihres Körpergeschlechts, ihrer Geschlechtsidentität (gefühltes Geschlecht), ihres Geschlechtsausdrucks und ihrer sexuellen Orientierung. Hier finden Sie weiterführende Infos zum Thema und zu Organisationen, die sich für die entsprechenden Anliegen einsetzen. 

Einen Einblick in das Thema geschlechtliche und sexuelle Vielfalt geben die Website und das Video des Projektes «Interventionen für geschlechtliche und sexuelle Vielfalt» des Deutschen Bildungs-, Beratungs- und Forschungsinstituts «Dissens»: 

Bedeutung von LGBTQIA+

LGBTQIA-Menschen repräsentieren einen Teil der geschlechtlichen und sexuellen Vielfalt. Die Bezeichnung LGBTQIA ist eine aus dem Englischen stammende Abkürzung (Akronym). Die Buchstaben stehen für die Anfangsbuchstaben von:

  • Lesbian 
  • Gay 
  • Bisexual 
  • Transgender 
  • Queer/Questioning
  • Intersex
  • Asexual

Je nach zugrundeliegender Sprache verändert sich diese Abkürzung. Zudem wird sie teilweise auch durch einen Stern (*) oder ein Plus (+) ergänzt, um Vielfalt und Erweiterbarkeit auszudrücken. 

Hilfreiche Informationen

Falls Sie auf der Suche nach hilfreichen Informationen rund um das Thema LGBTQIA+ im Hochschulumfeld sind, kann Ihnen die Website der Studierendenschaft der Universität Bern (SUB) weiterhelfen. Dort finden Sie nützliche Tipps und Tricks rund um den Hochschulalltag, Informationen zur Namensänderung und zum Geschlechtereintrag sowie diverse weiterführende Links:

Unsere Beratung und Unterstützung

Einen persönlichen Weg in der geschlechtlichen und sexuellen Vielfalt zu finden, kann neue Erfahrungen ermöglichen, bisher unbekannte Gefühle und Gedanken hervorrufen, aber auch zu Verunsicherung führen. Aufgrund der stark verbreiteten Annahme binärer Geschlechtszugehörigkeit und heterosexueller Orientierung machen LGBTIQ-Menschen zudem auch immer wieder Erfahrungen von Herabwürdigung und Ausschluss.

Bei der Beratungsstelle der Berner Hochschulen unterstützen wir Sie gerne im Rahmen einer individuellen Beratung – vertraulich und kostenlos. Wir stehen Ihnen zur Seite bei Ihrer persönlichen Identitätsfindung, den damit verbundenen Herausforderungen oder auch bei diskriminierenden Erfahrungen. 

Beachten Sie untenstehend auch unser Webangebot zu weiteren Themen, die Sie allenfalls interessieren könnten.

  • Beratungsangebot (Übersicht)

  • Sexuelle Belästigung

  • Diskriminierung

  • Rechtsberatung

Erklärvideo

Seite teilen