Logo Kanton Bern / Canton de BerneUniversities of Bern Counselling Centre
  • de
  • fr
  • en

Gender and sexual diversity

People differ in terms of their body gender, gender identity (perceived gender), gender expression and sexual orientation. Here you can find more comprehensive information on the topic and on organisations that advocate for the relevant issues.

The website and the video of the project «Interventions for Gender and Sexual Diversity» of the German Education, Counselling and Research Institute «Dissens»  provide an insight into the topic of gender and sexual diversity:

Meaning of LGBTQIA+

LGBTQIA people represent part of gender and sexual diversity. The term LGBTQIA is an abbreviation (acronym) originating from English. The letters stand for the first letters of:

  • Lesbian 
  • Gay 
  • Bisexual 
  • Transgender 
  • Queer/Questioning
  • Intersex
  • Asexual

This abbreviation changes depending on the underlying language. In addition, it is sometimes supplemented by an asterisk (*) or a plus (+) to express diversity and extensibility.

Helpful information

If you are looking for helpful information on the topic of LGBTQIA+ in the university environment, the website of the Student Association of the University of Bern (SUB) can help you. There you will find useful tips and advice on everyday university life, information on changing your name and registering your gender, as well as various further links:

Our counselling and support

Finding a personal path in gender and sexual diversity can open up new experiences, evoke previously unknown feelings and thoughts, but also lead to uncertainty. Due to the widespread assumption of binary gender and heterosexual orientation, LGBTIQ people also repeatedly experience degradation and exclusion.

At the Counselling Centre of the Universities of Bern, we are happy to support you within the framework of individual counselling – confidentially and free of charge. We are here to help you with your personal identity search, the challenges associated with it or even with discriminatory experiences.

Please also see our website below for further topics that could be of interest to you.

  • Counselling services (overview)

  • Sexual harassment

  • Discrimination

  • Legal advice

Explanatory video (in German)

Share this page

Logo Kanton Bern / Canton de BerneService de conseil des hautes écoles bernoises
  • de
  • fr
  • en

Diversité sexuelle et de genre

Les personnes diffèrent en termes de genre corporel, d'identité de genre (genre perçu), d'expression de genre et d'orientation sexuelle. Vous trouverez ici de plus amples informations sur ce thème et sur les organisations qui s'engagent sur les questions pertinentes.
 
Le site Web et la vidéo du projet « Interventions pour le genre et la diversité sexuelle » de l'Institut allemand d'éducation, de conseil et de recherche « Dissens » donnent un aperçu du thème de la diversité de genre et sexuelle:

Signification de LGBTQIA+

Les personnes LGBTQIA+ représentent une partie de la diversité de genre et sexuelle. Le terme LGBTQIA+ est une abréviation anglaise (acronyme). Les lettres représentent les premières lettres de :  

  • Lesbienne
  • Gay
  • Bisexuel-l-e
  • Transgenre
  • Queer/Questioning
  • Intersexe
  • Asexuel-l-e

Cette abréviation change en fonction de la langue sous-jacente. Par ailleurs, elle est en partie complétée par un astérisque (*) ou un plus (+) afin d'exprimer la diversité et les possibilités d'extension. 

Informations utiles

Si vous recherchez des informations utiles sur le thème LGBTQIA+ dans le milieu de l'enseignement supérieur, le site Web des étudiant-e-s de l'Université de Berne (SUB) peut vous aider. Vous y trouverez des conseils et astuces utiles sur la vie universitaire quotidienne, des informations sur le changement de nom et la saisie du genre, ainsi que différents autres liens :

Nos conseils et notre soutien

Trouver un chemin personnel dans la diversité de genre et sexuelle peut permettre de nouvelles expériences, susciter des sentiments et des pensées jusque-là inconnus, mais cela peut aussi conduire à l'incertitude. En raison de l'hypothèse largement répandue d'un genre binaire et d'une orientation hétérosexuelle, les personnes LGBTQIA+ font également l'objet de dénigrements et d'exclusions répétés.

Au Service de conseil des hautes écoles bernoises, nous sommes heureux de vous aider avec des conseils individuels - de manière confidentielle et gratuite. Nous sommes à vos côtés lors de la recherche de votre identité personnelle, les défis qui y sont associés ou encore en cas d'expériences discriminatoires.

Veuillez également consulter notre site Web ci-dessous qui contient d'autres thèmes qui pourraient vous intéresser. 

  • Conseils (aperçu)

  • Harcèlement sexuel

  • Discrimination

  • Conseil juridique 

Vidéo explicative (en allemand)

Partager