Logo Kanton Bern / Canton de BerneUniversities of Bern Counselling Centre
  • de
  • fr
  • en

Start of studies

Does the phase around the start of your studies seem like a particularly intense and challenging time to you? You are certainly not alone in having this impression! You can find helpful information on the topic here.

If you are not only looking forward to the start of your new study life, but are also having ambivalent feelings, this is absolutely normal! The start of your studies is a big step and can certainly be unsettling and raise questions. Have I done all the organisational work and registered correctly? What should I do if there is an overlap between courses in the major and minor? What does my study plan look like and how should I put together my timetable?

Maybe you are also unsure whether you can cope with the new demands of everyday university life. Or you may be struggling to find your way around in everyday student life, to finance your new life or to make contacts.

General Information

In the study guide of the University of Bern, we address common questions that may arise when you start your studies and provide numerous tips. These should also be helpful for students of the Bern University of Applied Sciences and the Bern University of Teacher Education. There is little fundamental difference between their situation at the beginning of their studies and that of students at the University.

If you have any subject-specific questions, it is best to contact the academic advisor at your institute directly. The contact persons can be found on the department website for your field of study.

Information from the Universities of Bern

University of Bern

You can find the websites of the University of Bern on the Bachelor's level information days and on a brochure about the Bachelor's degree programme here:

Bern University of Applied Sciences

You can find out more about the different courses of study and the requirements and opportunities for studying at the Bern University of Applied Sciences here:

Please also note the links below to our webpages Study organisation, Financing your studies and Strengthen your well-being. They should be particularly helpful when you start your studies:

Bern University of Teacher Education

General information from the PHBern on the Bachelor's degree programme as well as on commencement day can be found here:

Counselling and support

If you need further information or support for the start of your studies, you can take advantage of our free counselling service. We will help you clarify any unanswered questions and deal with any initial uncertainties and fears. During the first week of the semester, we also offer short counselling sessions on site at the Counselling Centre (no advance registration necessary).

  • Study organisation (overview) 

  • Financing your studies (overview)

  • Strengthen your well-being (overview)

Share this page

Logo Kanton Bern / Canton de BerneBeratungsstelle Berner Hochschulen
  • de
  • fr
  • en

Studienbeginn

Die Phase rund um den Studienbeginn scheint Ihnen eine besonders intensive und herausfordernde Zeit? Mit diesem Eindruck sind Sie sicherlich nicht alleine! Hier finden Sie hilfreiche Informationen zum Thema.

Falls Sie beim Start in das neue Studienleben nicht nur Vorfreude verspüren, sondern auch zwiespältige Gefühle haben, ist dies absolut normal! Der Studienbeginn ist ein grosser Schritt und kann durchaus verunsichern und Fragen aufwerfen. Habe ich alles Organisatorische erledigt und mich richtig angemeldet? Was tun bei Überschneidungen von Veranstaltungen im Major und Minor? Wie sieht mein Studienplan aus und wie muss ich meinen Stundenplan zusammenstellen?

Vielleicht sind Sie auch unsicher, ob Sie den neuen Anforderungen des Hochschulalltags genügen. Oder Sie haben Mühe, sich im Studienalltag zurechtfinden, Ihr neues Leben zu finanzieren oder Kontakte zu knüpfen.

Allgemeine Informationen

Im Studienführer der Universität Bern nehmen wir häufige Fragen auf, die sich bei Studienbeginn stellen können und geben dazu zahlreiche Tipps. Diese dürften auch für Studierende der Berner Fachhochschule und der Pädagogischen Hochschule Bern hilfreich sein. Ihre Situation bei Studienbeginn unterscheidet sich kaum grundlegend von derjenigen der Studierenden der Universität. 

Für studienfachspezifische Fragen wenden Sie sich am besten direkt an die Studienfachberatung an Ihrem Institut. Die Ansprechpersonen sind auf der Institutswebseite Ihres Studienfachs zu finden.

Informationen der Berner Hochschulen

Universität Bern

Die Webseiten der Universität Bern zu den Informationstagen des Bachelorlevels sowie zu einer Broschüre über das Bachelorstudium finden Sie hier:

Berner Fachhochschule

Über die verschiedenen Studiengänge und die Voraussetzungen und Möglichkeiten für ein Studium an der Berner Fachhochschule können Sie hier mehr erfahren: 

Pädagogische Hochschule Bern

Allgemeine Infos der PHBern zum Studium sowie zum Tag des Studienbeginns können Sie hier konsultieren:

Beachten Sie zudem die untenstehenden Links zu unseren Webseiten Studienorganisation, Studienfinanzierung und Wohlbefinden stärken. Sie dürften gerade auch für den Studienbeginn hilfreich sein: 

Beratung und Unterstützung

Falls Sie noch weitere Infos oder Unterstützung für den Studienbeginn benötigen, können Sie eine kostenlose Beratung bei uns in Anspruch nehmen. Wir unterstützen Sie bei der Klärung offener Fragen und beim Umgang mit den anfänglichen Unsicherheiten und Ängsten. In der ersten Semesterwoche bieten wir vor Ort bei der Beratungsstelle auch Kurzberatungen an (keine Voranmeldung nötig).

  • Studienorganisation (Übersicht)

  • Studienfinanzierung (Übersicht)

  • Wohlbefinden stärken (Übersicht)

Seite teilen