Logo Kanton Bern / Canton de BerneUniversities of Bern Counselling Centre
  • de
  • fr
  • en

Application

Your application file is your calling card and makes an important first impression. Below you will find useful hints and tips on how to prepare your application.

Overview

The form and content of your file are crucial if you are to arouse interest in yourself and be invited for a job interview. That is why you should take the time to create your personal application documents! An application file usually contains the following documents:

  • Cover sheet (optional)
  • Curriculum vitae
  • Letter of motivation
  • Enclosures (study diplomas, work references, language and other diplomas)

There are numerous guides that can help you create an application file. They contain, for example, examples of CVs or sector-specific letters of motivation. They also offer advice on how to highlight your specialized / transferable skills and experience. You can also create a competence profile to prepare yourself.

Curriculum Vitae and Letter of Motivation

The curriculum vitae is often also called the CV. In Latin «Curriculum Vitae » means «Course of Life». The motivation letter is sometimes also called «cover letter».

Enclosures

Enclosures should include documents proving your education and experience.

Unsolicited application

You can either apply for an advertised position or send an unsolicited application to the company of your choice. An unsolicited application is also called a «spontaneous application» or «blind application» and has the advantage that you do not have any fellow applicants. Since you cannot refer to a job advertisement, you should direct your application to a specific function if possible.

Application in English

If you are applying to a company in Switzerland in English, you can translate your application directly into English (without having to follow specific requirements). When applying in English-speaking countries, it is important to observe the application standards of the country in question, as these vary from country to country.

  • Career entry

  • Career path and professional life (overview)

  • Counselling services (overview) 

Share this page

Logo Kanton Bern / Canton de BerneService de conseil des hautes écoles bernoises
  • de
  • fr
  • en

Candidature

Le dossier de candidature est votre carte de visite et il créé une première impression importante. Vous trouverez ici des informations utiles et des conseils pour préparer votre candidature. 

Aperçu

La forme et le contenu de votre dossier sont essentiels pour susciter l'intérêt à votre égard et être invité à un entretien. Par conséquent, prenez le temps de concevoir vos documents de candidature personnels ! Un dossier de candidature contient généralement les documents suivants :

  • Page de garde (facultative)
  • Curriculum vitae
  • Lettre de motivation
  • Pièces jointes (diplômes d'études, attestation de travail, diplômes de langue et autres)

Il existe de nombreux guides qui peuvent vous aider à préparer un dossier de candidature. Ils contiennent, par exemple, des exemples de curriculum vitae ou de lettres de motivation spécifiques au secteur. Ils contiennent également des conseils sur la façon dont vous pouvez rendre visibles vos compétences et votre expérience multidisciplinaires. Vous pouvez également créer un profil de compétences pour la préparation.

Curriculum Vitae et lettre de motivation

Le Curriculum Vitae est aussi souvent appelé CV. CV est l'abréviation de « Curriculum Vitae », qui signifie « parcours de la vie » en latin. La lettre de motivation est parfois aussi appelée « lettre d'accompagnement ». 

Pièces jointes

Les pièces jointes comprennent les documents qui prouvent votre formation et votre expérience.

Candidature spontanée

Vous pouvez soit postuler à une offre d'emploi, soit envoyer une candidature spontanée à l'entreprise de votre choix. Une candidature spontanée est aussi appelée « sollicitation » ou « candidature aveugle » et a l'avantage de ne pas avoir de concurrents. Du fait que vous ne pouvez pas vous référer à une offre d'emploi, vous devez si possible adapter votre candidature à un poste spécifique.

Candidature en anglais

Si vous postulez en anglais à une entreprise en Suisse, vous pouvez traduire votre candidature directement en anglais (sans avoir à tenir compte d'exigences spécifiques). Lors de candidatures dans les pays anglophones, les normes de candidature du pays respectif doivent être respectées, car elles diffèrent d'un pays à l'autre.

  • Conseils en matière de carrière et d'orientation professionnelle

  • Entrée dans la vie professionelle (aperçu)

Partager