Logo Kanton Bern / Canton de BerneUniversities of Bern Counselling Centre
  • de
  • fr
  • en

Application

Your application file is your calling card and makes an important first impression. Below you will find useful hints and tips on how to prepare your application.

Overview

The form and content of your file are crucial if you are to arouse interest in yourself and be invited for a job interview. That is why you should take the time to create your personal application documents! An application file usually contains the following documents:

  • Cover sheet (optional)
  • Curriculum vitae
  • Letter of motivation
  • Enclosures (study diplomas, work references, language and other diplomas)

There are numerous guides that can help you create an application file. They contain, for example, examples of CVs or sector-specific letters of motivation. They also offer advice on how to highlight your specialized / transferable skills and experience. You can also create a competence profile to prepare yourself.

Curriculum Vitae and Letter of Motivation

The curriculum vitae is often also called the CV. In Latin «Curriculum Vitae » means «Course of Life». The motivation letter is sometimes also called «cover letter».

Enclosures

Enclosures should include documents proving your education and experience.

Unsolicited application

You can either apply for an advertised position or send an unsolicited application to the company of your choice. An unsolicited application is also called a «spontaneous application» or «blind application» and has the advantage that you do not have any fellow applicants. Since you cannot refer to a job advertisement, you should direct your application to a specific function if possible.

Application in English

If you are applying to a company in Switzerland in English, you can translate your application directly into English (without having to follow specific requirements). When applying in English-speaking countries, it is important to observe the application standards of the country in question, as these vary from country to country.

  • Career entry

  • Career path and professional life (overview)

  • Counselling services (overview) 

Share this page

Logo Kanton Bern / Canton de BerneBeratungsstelle Berner Hochschulen
  • de
  • fr
  • en

Bewerbung

Das Bewerbungsdossier ist Ihre Visitenkarte und hinterlässt einen wichtigen ersten Eindruck. Hier finden Sie nützliche Hinweise und Tipps zur Erstellung Ihrer Bewerbung. 

Überblick

Damit Sie das Interesse an Ihrer Person wecken und zu einem Vorstellungsgespräch eingeladen werden, sind Form und Inhalt Ihres Dossiers entscheidend. Nehmen Sie sich deshalb Zeit für die Gestaltung Ihrer persönlichen Bewerbungsunterlagen! Ein Bewerbungsdossier enthält in der Regel folgende Dokumente:

  • Deckblatt (freiwillig)
  • Lebenslauf
  • Motivationsschreiben
  • Beilagen (Studiendiplome, Arbeitszeugnis, Sprach- und weitere Diplome)

Es gibt zahlreiche Ratgeber, die Sie beim Erstellen eines Bewerbungsdossiers unterstützen können. Sie enthalten zum Beispiel Muster von Lebensläufen oder branchenspezifische Motivationsschreiben. Zudem bieten sie Hinweise, wie Sie Ihre (über-)fachlichen Kompetenzen und Erfahrungen sichtbar machen können. Zur Vorbereitung können Sie auch ein Kompetenzprofil erstellen.

Lebenslauf und Motivationsschreiben

Der Lebenslauf wird oft auch CV genannt. CV ist die Abkürzung von «Curriculum Vitae», was auf lateinisch «Lauf des Lebens» heisst. Das Motivationsschreiben wird manchmal auch «Anschreiben» genannt.

Beilagen

Zu den Beilagen gehören die Dokumente, die Ihre Ausbildungen und Erfahrungen belegen. 

Initiativbewerbung

Sie können sich entweder um eine ausgeschriebene Stelle bewerben oder dem Wunschunternehmen eine Intitiativbewerbung zukommen lassen. Eine Initiativbewerbung wird auch «Spontanbewerbung» oder «Blindbewerbung» genannt und hat den Vorteil, dass Sie keine Mitbewerbenden haben. Da Sie sich nicht auf eine Stellenausschreibung beziehen können, sollten Sie Ihre Bewerbung wenn möglich auf eine konkrete Funktion ausrichten. 

Bewerbung auf Englisch

Wenn Sie sich bei einem Unternehmen in der Schweiz auf Englisch bewerben, können Sie Ihre Bewerbung direkt ins Englische übersetzen (ohne dafür spezifische Anforderungen beachten zu müssen). Bei Bewerbungen in englischsprachigen Ländern gilt es, die Bewerbungsstandards des jeweiligen Landes zu beachten, denn diese sind je nach Land unterschiedlich.

 

  • Karriere und Laufbahnberatung

  • Berufseinstieg und Laufbahn (Übersicht)

Seite teilen
  • Website-Empfehlung: Bewerbung