Logo Kanton Bern / Canton de BerneUniversities of Bern Counselling Centre
  • de
  • fr
  • en

Financial emergencies

Are you facing an acute financial emergency? Find out here where you can get quick help, but also longer-term support and savings options.

General Information

Important: at the Counselling Centre of the Universities of Bern we offer free psychological counselling, however we do not provide financial support for students in economic distress.

We will support you in dealing with a stressful financial situation and in developing appropriate solution strategies. However, if you primarily need financial help, we advise you to contact the relevant specialist and counselling offices directly. Below you will find an overview of the most important contact points and information on the topic.

Emergency aid from the Social Welfare Office

If you are experiencing an acute economic emergency, contact the social welfare office in your place of residence. According to the Federal Constitution, people living in Switzerland are entitled to emergency financial assistance. The Social Welfare Office also offers social counselling. Information on social assistance in the Canton of Bern can be found here:

Waiver of tuition fees

Some Swiss universities grant students who are in a financial emergency a partial or full refund of their semester fees. Students in difficult financial situations must submit a request for this. Please enquire at your university.

Further support and savings options

Is your financial situation permanently strained? Do you need help – especially in the long term – to solve your money problems? Use the information below to find out whether you or your parents can benefit from reduced premiums or family allowances You can also check out our selection of practical tips on how to save money.

But above all, we recommend that you take a look at the collection of links below on the subject of financing your studies. For example, are you eligible for scholarships or loans? Or are you wondering how you can create a budget to get a better grip on your living costs? You will find answers and more comprehensive information on these questions on our related webpages.

  • Financing your studies (overview) 

  • Foundations and funds

  • Scholarships and loans

  • Strengthen your well-being (overview)

Share this page

Logo Kanton Bern / Canton de BerneBeratungsstelle Berner Hochschulen
  • de
  • fr
  • en

Finanzielle Notlage

Befinden Sie sich in einer akuten wirtschaftlichen Notlage? Hier erfahren Sie, wo Sie rasche Hilfe, aber auch längerfristige Unterstützungs- und Sparmöglichkeiten finden können.

Allgemeine Informationen

Wichtig: Bei der Beratungsstelle der Berner Hochschulen bieten wir kostenlose psychologische Beratungen an, aber keine finanzielle Unterstützung für Studierende in wirtschaftlicher Not.

Wir unterstützen Sie dabei, mit einer belastenden finanziellen Situation umzugehen und angemessene Lösungsstrategien zu entwickeln. Falls Sie aber primär finanzielle Hilfe benötigen, raten wir Ihnen, direkt mit den zuständigen Fach- und Beratungsstellen Kontakt aufzunehmen. Untenstehend finden Sie eine Übersicht der wichtigsten Anlaufstellen und Informationen zum Thema.

Nothilfe beim Sozialamt

Kontaktieren Sie in einer akuten wirtschaftlichen Notsituation das Sozialamt Ihres Wohnortes. In der Schweiz lebende Personen haben gemäss Bundesverfassung Anspruch auf finanzielle Nothilfe. Das Sozialamt bietet auch Sozialberatungen an. Informationen zur Sozialhilfe des Kt. Bern finden Sie hier:

Erlass von Studiengebühren

Einige Schweizer Hochschulen gewähren Studierenden, die in eine finanzielle Notlage geraten sind, die Rückerstattung eines Teiles oder des gesamten Umfangs der Semestergebühren. Dazu müssen Studierende in schwierigen finanziellen Situationen einen Antrag stellen. Erkundigen Sie sich bei Ihrer Hochschule. 

Weitere Unterstützungs- und Sparmöglichkeiten

Ist Ihre finanzielle Situation permanent angespannt und benötigen Sie – gerade auch auf längere Sicht – Hilfe bei der Lösung Ihrer Geldprobleme? Prüfen Sie mittels untenstehender Informationen, ob Sie oder Ihre Eltern allenfalls von einer Prämienverbilligung oder von Familienzulagen profitieren können. Werfen Sie auch einen Blick auf unsere Auswahl konkreter Spartipps.

Vor allem empfehlen wir Ihnen aber, untenstehende Linksammlung rund um das Thema Studienfinanzierung zu beachten. Haben Sie z.B. Anspruch auf Stipendien oder Darlehen? Oder fragen Sie sich, wie Sie ein Budget erstellen können, um Ihre Lebenshaltungskosten besser in den Griff zu kriegen? Auf unseren entsprechenden Webseiten finden Sie Antworten und weiterführende Infos zu diesen Fragen.

  • Studienfinanzierung (Übersicht)

  • Stipendien und Darlehen

  • Wohlbefinden stärken (Übersicht)

Seite teilen
  • Website-Empfehlung: Finanzielle Notlage