Logo Kanton Bern / Canton de BerneUniversities of Bern Counselling Centre
  • de
  • fr
  • en

Financial emergencies

Are you facing an acute financial emergency? Find out here where you can get quick help, but also longer-term support and savings options.

General Information

Important: at the Counselling Centre of the Universities of Bern we offer free psychological counselling, however we do not provide financial support for students in economic distress.

We will support you in dealing with a stressful financial situation and in developing appropriate solution strategies. However, if you primarily need financial help, we advise you to contact the relevant specialist and counselling offices directly. Below you will find an overview of the most important contact points and information on the topic.

Emergency aid from the Social Welfare Office

If you are experiencing an acute economic emergency, contact the social welfare office in your place of residence. According to the Federal Constitution, people living in Switzerland are entitled to emergency financial assistance. The Social Welfare Office also offers social counselling. Information on social assistance in the Canton of Bern can be found here:

Waiver of tuition fees

Some Swiss universities grant students who are in a financial emergency a partial or full refund of their semester fees. Students in difficult financial situations must submit a request for this. Please enquire at your university.

Further support and savings options

Is your financial situation permanently strained? Do you need help – especially in the long term – to solve your money problems? Use the information below to find out whether you or your parents can benefit from reduced premiums or family allowances You can also check out our selection of practical tips on how to save money.

But above all, we recommend that you take a look at the collection of links below on the subject of financing your studies. For example, are you eligible for scholarships or loans? Or are you wondering how you can create a budget to get a better grip on your living costs? You will find answers and more comprehensive information on these questions on our related webpages.

  • Financing your studies (overview) 

  • Foundations and funds

  • Scholarships and loans

  • Strengthen your well-being (overview)

Share this page

Logo Kanton Bern / Canton de BerneService de conseil des hautes écoles bernoises
  • de
  • fr
  • en

Urgences financières

Êtes-vous dans une situation d'urgence financière aiguë ? Vous trouverez ici où trouver une aide rapide ainsi qu'un soutien à long terme et des opportunités d'économies.

Informations générales

Important : au Service de conseil des hautes écoles bernoises, nous proposons des conseils psychologiques gratuits, mais aucune aide financière pour les étudiant-e-s en grandes difficultés financières.

Nous vous aidons à faire face à une situation financière stressante et à développer des stratégies de solution appropriées. Cependant, si vous avez surtout besoin d'une aide financière, nous vous conseillons de contacter directement les services spécialisés et de consultation compétents. Vous trouverez ci-dessous un aperçu des principaux points de contact et des informations sur ce thème. 

Aide d'urgence du bureau d'aide sociale

En cas d'urgence financière aiguë, contactez le bureau d'aide sociale de votre lieu de résidence. Selon la constitution fédérale, les personnes résidant en Suisse ont droit à une aide financière d'urgence. Le bureau d'aide sociale propose également des consultations sociales. Vous trouverez ici des informations relative à l'aide sociale du canton de Berne :

Exonération des frais d’études

Certaines hautes écoles suisses accordent aux étudiant-e-s en difficulté financière le remboursement d'une partie ou de la totalité des frais semestriels. À cette fin, les étudiant-e-s en situation financière précaire doivent soumettre une demande. Renseignez-vous auprès de votre haute école.

Autres possibilités d'assistance et d'économies

Votre situation financière est tendue en permanence et vous avez besoin d'aide afin de résoudre vos problèmes d'argent, surtout à long terme ? À l'aide des informations ci-dessous, vérifiez si vous ou vos parents pouvez bénéficier d'une réduction des frais ou d'allocations familiales. Jetez également un coup d'œil sur notre sélection de conseils d'épargne concrets.

Nous vous recommandons avant tout de consulter les différents liens ci-dessous sur le thème du financement des études. Par exemple, êtes-vous éligible pour des bourses ou des prêts ? Ou vous demandez-vous comment créer un budget afin de mieux gérer vos frais de subsistance ? Vous trouverez des réponses et de plus amples informations à ces questions sur nos sites Web respectifs. 

  • Financement des études (aperçu)

  • Fondations et fonds

  • Bourses et prêts

  • Renforcer le bien-être (aperçu)

Partager