Logo Kanton Bern / Canton de BerneUniversities of Bern Counselling Centre
  • de
  • fr
  • en

Mediation and conflict resolution

Are you affected by a conflict in your studies, at work or in your private life? We offer mediation and conflict resolution assistance to students and employees of the Universities of Bern and support both individuals and groups – confidentially and free of charge.

Introduction

It is perfectly normal and also unavoidable that sooner or later differences of opinion or even conflicts arise where people live, work or study together. This also comes from the different experiences, perceptions, expectations, preconditions, needs, interests and goals that individuals bring with them.

In some situations, however, conflicts can lead to the people concerned being severely impacted, blocked and impeded in their ability to perform and in their personal development, even in the long term. Likewise, they can delay projects or impair the functioning of entire organisations – large or small. If conflicts are not resolved, the longer they last and the higher the level of escalation, the more negative their effects will be, in the case of study or work, on, among other things...

  • cooperation
  • work results
  • the working atmosphere
  • and personal health

Conflicts in private life can also have a strong impact on the people involved. Time and again, relationships between couples, families, friends or neighbours unfortunately suffer or even break down as a result. 

What are the benefits of mediation?

Mediation is a tried and tested procedure in which we, as an independent third party, support the disputing parties in resolving their conflict amicably. During the process, we take into account the interests and needs of all conflicting parties in order to achieve a fair and forward-looking solution for all involved.

We see ourselves as mediators in the process and are responsible for the mediation process, but not for the resolution of the conflict. We also want to help the conflicting parties to understand each other's point of view without having to sacrifice our own. We support and strengthen the parties to focus on their common interests in order to find amicable and constructive solutions.

What are the basic principles we follow?

During mediation we commit ourselves to the following basic principles:

  • Impartiality
  • Neutrality
  • Respect for all participants
  • The voluntary nature of all participation
  • Orientation to the strengths of the conflicting parties
  • Confidentiality

Our mediations are free of charge. You are welcome to register for mediation with our administrative office. 

  • Counselling services (overview)

  • Conflicts and bullying

  • Psychological problems (overview) 

  • Strengthen your well-being (overview)

Share this page

Logo Kanton Bern / Canton de BerneService de conseil des hautes écoles bernoises
  • de
  • fr
  • en

Médiation et résolution de conflits

Êtes-vous concerné-e par un conflit au cours de vos études, de votre travail ou dans votre vie privée ? Nous proposons aux étudiant-e-s et aux employé-e-s des hautes écoles bernoises une médiation et une aide à la résolution des conflits et nous soutenons aussi bien les individus que les groupes – de manière confidentielle et gratuite. 

Introduction

Il est tout à fait normal et aussi inévitable que tôt ou tard des divergences d'opinion ou même des conflits surviennent là où les individus vivent, travaillent ou étudient ensemble. Ceci tient aussi au fait que les individus ont différentes expériences, perceptions, attentes, exigences, besoins, intérêts et objectifs.

Cependant, dans certaines situations les conflits peuvent être un fardeau à long terme pour les personnes concernées, les bloquant et entravant leurs performances et leur développement personnel. lls peuvent également retarder des projets ou avoir une incidence sur le fonctionnement d'organisations entières – grandes ou petites. Si les conflits ne sont pas résolus, ils ont des effets négatifs avec une durée et un niveau d'escalade croissants, lors des études ou au travail, entre autres sur

  • la collaboration
  • les résultats du travail
  • l'ambiance de travail
  • et la santé personnelle

Les conflits dans la vie privée peuvent également avoir une incidence grave sur les personnes impliquées. Il y a donc toujours des relations de couple, de famille, d'amitié ou de voisinage qui en souffrent ou même se brisent pour cette raison. 

À quoi sert une médiation ?

La médiation est une procédure éprouvée dans laquelle nous, en tant que tiers indépendants, aidons les parties au conflit à le résoudre à l'amiable. Dans ce processus, nous tenons compte des intérêts et des besoins de toutes les parties au conflit afin de parvenir à une solution juste et tournée vers l'avenir pour toutes les parties concernées.

Au cours du processus, nous nous considérons en tant que médiateur et nous sommes responsables du processus de médiation, mais pas de la résolution du conflit. Nous voulons également aider les parties au conflit à comprendre le point de vue de l'autre sans avoir à renoncer à son propre point de vue. 

Sur quels principes de base nous orientons-nous ?

Lors d'une médiation, nous nous engageons à respecter les principes de base suivants :

  • Impartialité
  • Neutralité
  • Valorisation de toutes les personnes impliquées
  • Volontariat de toutes les personnes impliquées
  • Orientation vers les forces des parties au conflit
  • Confidentialité

Nos médiations sont gratuites. N'hésitez pas à vous inscrire à une médiation auprès de notre secrétariat. 

  • Conseils (aperçu)

  • Conflits et harcèlement

  • Problèmes psychiques (aperçu)

  • Renforcer le bien-être (aperçu)

Partager