Logo Kanton Bern / Canton de BerneUniversities of Bern Counselling Centre
  • de
  • fr
  • en

Coping with exams

Does the mere thought of the end of the semester and the approaching exam period make you nervous? Do you have trouble structuring your study phase or do you suffer from exam anxiety? Here you will find helpful tips and information on how to deal with this.

Basically, the earlier you start dealing with the exam material, the more efficiently you will acquire the necessary knowledge. This means that you will be better able to recall what you have learned later on. That is why our general advice to you is

  • Take time to plan your learning phase well in terms of time and content!

We distinguish between the following three phases of exam preparation:

  • BEFORE the exam
  • DURING the exam
  • AFTER the exam

Each of these three phases has its own particular challenges. In the articles on phases 1 and 2, we have compiled a fact sheet with the most important tips and information for you.  

Phase 1: Before the exam

Many different factors play a role in how well and efficiently your exam preparation goes. You can use our fact sheet for the first phase of exam preparation. It contains two checklists that you can use to assess the following:

  • Checklist for successful exam preparation: am I ready to start my learning phase successfully or do I need to «learn how to study» first?
  • Checklist for successful content planning of the learning phase: how do I go about ensuring that I pay attention to and remember all (relevant) content when learning?

Here you will find the fact sheet on phase 1 of exam preparation:

Learning strategies / difficulties

There are a number of ways you can efficiently and successfully master your learning material. On our webpage «Learning Successfully» you can find out more about learning through different sensory channels, recognising your strengths and weaknesses or how to optimally organise your workplace:

Tips to combat learning difficulties

In every exam preparation phase, there are days when it is difficult to engage in the learning process, even if you actually know your learning rhythm. It is important to take a break at such times. It is also helpful to find out why your learning process is disturbed.

Phase 2: During the exam

There are several tips on how to stay confident during the exam. These depend on the type of exam.

In the phase 2 fact sheet «During the exam», we have compiled tips and tricks for oral and written exams, as well as for exams with multiple-choice questions:

It has been shown that the same mistakes are often made across subjects. So make sure you don't make the mistakes mentioned in the video – they are easily avoidable.

Nervousness and exam anxiety

A certain amount of tension is normal and even promotes concentration and performance.

However, if you suffer greatly from nervousness and exam anxiety, it can be helpful to look at possible reasons for this for a moment. This will help you get to the root of your anxiety and develop useful counter-strategies.

Our tips and questions can help you in this self-exploration process:

Relaxation exercises

Relaxation exercises are also useful to reduce your exam nerves to a level that is conducive to your performance. You can find various tips on our webpage for the time before the exam, i.e. during the learning phase:

You can use this simple technique during the exam, the 4-6 breathing technique.

This is a short calming exercise that can be used at any time and in any place. Ideally, you should do it again and again in everyday life, even if you are not acutely nervous.

Then you will already be familiar with it, and you will be able to use it more effectively when you get into a stressful situation. The 4-6 breathing technique also has a positive effect on your body and psyche when you are not tense or stressed.

Instructions:

Slowly breathe in deeply for 4 seconds and exhale even more slowly for 6 seconds without a pause. While doing this, make yourself heavy. Repeat this six times for 1 minute or twelve times for 2 minutes.

Phase 3: After the exam

Even if you felt you had planned and learned everything well, things can go wrong. This can be caused by external factors, but also by your own mistakes. However, failures are always opportunities to get to know yourself better. Here are some helpful tips on how to deal with exam failure:

Failure

Workshop and counselling services

If you need support in preparing for an exam or coping with exam failure, you are welcome to come to us for personal counselling – free of charge and in confidence. We also offer a workshop on sitting exams with (more) confidence.

Please also note the links below to further work techniques that you can use to reflect on your learning behaviour. You may also find our YouTube videos helpful.  

  • Counselling services (overview) 

  • Workshops (in German only)

  • General work techniques (overview)

  • Study-specific techniques (overview) 

Share this page
  • Recommendation Website Coping with exams

Logo Kanton Bern / Canton de BerneBeratungsstelle Berner Hochschulen
  • de
  • fr
  • en

Prüfungen bewältigen

Macht Sie alleine schon der Gedanke an das Semesterende und die nahende Prüfungsphase nervös? Haben Sie Mühe damit, Ihre Lernphase zu strukturieren oder leiden Sie unter Prüfungsängsten? Hier finden Sie hilfreiche Tipps und Informationen zum Umgang mit dem Thema.

Grundsätzlich gilt: Je früher Sie anfangen, sich mit dem Prüfungsstoff auseinanderzusetzen, desto effizienter werden Sie sich das nötige Wissen aneignen. Das bedeutet, dass Sie später das Erlernte auch besser wieder abrufen können. Deswegen raten wir Ihnen ganz allgemein:

  • Nehmen Sie sich Zeit für eine gute zeitliche und inhaltliche Planung Ihrer Lernphase!

Wir unterscheiden zwischen den folgenden drei Phasen der Prüfungsvorbereitung: 

  • VOR der Prüfung
  • WÄHREND der Prüfung
  • NACH der Prüfung

Jede dieser drei Phasen weist ihre besonderen Herausforderungen auf. In den Texten zu Phase 1 und 2 haben wir Ihnen je ein Merkblatt mit den wichtigsten Tipps und Informationen zusammengestellt. 

Phase 1: Vor der Prüfung

Es spielen viele verschiedene Faktoren eine Rolle dabei, wie gut und effizient Ihre Prüfungsvorbereitung abläuft. Zur ersten Phase der Prüfungsvorbereitung können Sie unser Merkblatt nutzen. Darauf finden Sie zwei Checklisten, mit welchen Sie folgendes einschätzen können:

  • Generelle Checkliste für eine erfolgreiche Prüfungsvorbereitung: Bin ich bereit dazu, erfolgreich in meine Lernphase zu starten, oder muss ich zuerst das «Lernen erlernen»?
  • Checkliste für eine erfolgreiche inhaltliche Planung der Lernphase: Wie gehe ich vor, um sicherzustellen, dass ich alle (relevanten) Inhalte beim Lernen beachte und mich daran erinnern werde?

Hier finden Sie das Merkblatt zu Phase 1 der Prüfungsvorbereitung:

Lernstrategien /-störungen

Es gibt verschiedene Wege, wie Sie effizient und erfolgreich Ihren Lernstoff bewältigen können. Auf unserer Webseite «Erfolgreich lernen» können Sie mehr über das Lernen über verschiedene Sinneskanäle, das Erkennen Ihrer Stärken und Schwächen oder die optimale Gestaltung Ihres Arbeitsplatzes erfahren:

Tipps gegen Lernstörungen

In jeder Prüfungsvorbereitungsphase gibt es Tage, an welchen es schwierig ist, sich auf den Lernprozess einlassen zu können, auch wenn Sie Ihren Lernrhythmus eigentlich kennen. Es ist in solchen Momenten wichtig, eine Pause zu machen. Auch ist es hilfreich herauszufinden, weshalb Ihr Lernprozess gestört ist. 

Phase 2: Während der Prüfung

Es gibt verschiedene Tipps dafür, wie Sie während der Prüfung zuversichtlich bleiben können. Diese hängen von der Art der Prüfung ab.

Im Merkblatt zu Phase 2 «Während der Prüfung» haben wir für Sie Tipps und Tricks für mündliche und schriftliche Prüfungen, sowie für Examen mit Multiple-Choice Fragen zusammengestellt:

Es hat sich gezeigt, dass fächerübergreifend häufig dieselben Fehler gemacht werden. Bleiben Sie also wachsam, dass Ihnen die im Video erwähnten Fehler nicht passieren – sie sind leicht vermeidbar. 

Nervosität und Prüfungsängste

Ein gewisses Mass an Anspannung ist normal und fördert sogar die Konzentration und Leistungsfähigkeit. Sollten Sie jedoch stark unter Nervosität und Prüfungsangst leiden, kann es hilfreich sein, sich für einen Moment mit möglichen Gründen dafür zu befassen. So können Sie Ihre Angst gezielter an der Wurzel packen und nützliche Gegenstrategien entwickeln. Unsere Hinweise und Fragen können Ihnen bei diesem Selbsterkundungsprozess helfen: 

Entspannungsübungen

Sinnvoll sind auch Entspannungsübungen, um Ihre Prüfungsnervosität wieder auf ein Niveau zu senken, das für Ihre Leistungsfähigkeit förderlich ist. Für die Zeit vor der Prüfung, also während der Lernphase, finden Sie dazu verschiedene Hinweise auf unserer Webseite:

Während der Prüfung können sie diese simple Technik anwenden: die 4-6-Atemtechnik.

Dies ist eine kurze, zu jeder Zeit und an jedem Ort anwendbare Beruhigungsübung. Idealerweise machen Sie sie immer wieder im Alltag, auch wenn keine akute Nervosität vorliegt. Sie ist Ihnen dann bereits vertraut und Sie können sie effektiver anwenden, wenn Sie in eine Stresssituation geraten. Die 4-6-Atemtechnik hat auch einen positiven Effekt auf Körper und Psyche, wenn Sie nicht angespannt oder gestresst sind.

Anleitung:

Langsam während 4 Sekunden tief einatmen und ohne Pause noch langsamer während 6 Sekunden ausatmen. Sich dabei schwermachen. Dies sechsmal während 1 Minute oder zwölfmal bis 2 Minuten wiederholen. 

Phase 3: Nach der Prüfung

Auch wenn Sie das Gefühl hatten, alles gut geplant und gelernt zu haben, kann es schiefgehen. Daran können äussere Faktoren, aber auch eigene Fehler schuld sein. Misserfolge sind aber immer auch Chancen, sich selber besser kennenzulernen. Hier finden Sie hilfreiche Tipps im Umgang mit einem Misserfolg bei Ihrer Prüfung: 

Misserfolg

Workshop und Beratungsangebot

Wenn Sie Unterstützung bei der Vorbereitung einer Prüfung oder bei der Bewältigung eines Prüfungsmisserfolgs brauchen, können Sie gerne zu uns in eine persönliche Beratung kommen – kostenlos und vertraulich. Zusätzlich bieten wir einen Workshop an zum Thema, um gelassen(er) an Prüfungen antreten zu können.

Beachten Sie ausserdem die untenstehenden Links zu weiteren Arbeitstechniken, mit deren Inhalten Sie Ihr Lernverhalten reflektieren können. Weiterhelfen können Ihnen vielleicht auch unsere YouTube-Videos. 

  • Beratungsangebot (Übersicht)

  • Workshops (Übersicht)

  • Allgemeine Arbeitstechniken (Übersicht)

  • Studienspezifische Techniken (Übersicht)

Seite teilen